## MINUTES OF THE PERMIT HEARING AND MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE

## MIDDLE TRINITY GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT HELD: June 2, 2022

THE STATE OF TEXAS COUNTY OF ERATH

On this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of June 2022 the Board of Directors of the Middle Trinity Groundwater Conservation District convened in a PERMIT HEARING at 930 N Wolfe Nursery Rd, Stephenville, Texas at 1:00 PM with the following members present:

Rodney Stephens - President Fred Parker - Secretary Shane Tucker - Director Robert Payne - Director Frank Volleman – Director Joe Altebaumer - Director Barbara Domel – Vice-President Jerry Hinshaw - Director W.B. Maples - Director Gary Kafer - Director Kenneth Bullington – Director

Board Member absent was Charles Ferguson. Also present were Patrick Wagner, Johnny Wells, Stephanie Keith, Crystal Eberhart, and Debbie Montgomery.

President Rodney Stephens called the hearing to order, declared a quorum present and that the hearing was duly convened and ready to transact business.

Notice of the hearing was given, stating the time, place and purpose, all as required by Chapter 551 of the Government Code.

- 1. Hearing called to order by Rodney Stephens.
- 2. Roll Call of members was given by Debbie Montgomery.
- 3. All operating permit applications were administratively complete. The permit application for Kevin Northcutt is for an existing registered well, with increase requested from 17 to 22 GPM.
- 4. Motion to adjourn permit hearing made by Fred Parker. Second by Robert Payne. All members present voted yes.
- 5. Rodney Stephens adjourned the permit hearing.

## THE STATE OF TEXAS COUNTY OF ERATH

On this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of June 2022, the Board of Directors of the Middle Trinity Groundwater Conservation District convened in a STATED SESSION at 930 N Wolfe Nursery Rd, Stephenville, Texas at 1:00 PM with the following members present:

Rodney Stephens - Vice-President Fred Parker - Secretary Shane Tucker - Director Robert Payne - Director Frank Volleman – Director Joe Altebaumer - Director Barbara Domel – Vice-President Jerry Hinshaw - Director W.B. Maples - Director Gary Kafer - Director Kenneth Bullington – Director

Board Member absent was Charles Ferguson. Also present were Patrick Wagner, Johnny Wells, Stephanie Keith, Crystal Eberhart, and Debbie Montgomery.

President Rodney Stephens called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

Notice of the hearing was given, stating the time, place and purpose, all as required by Chapter 551 of the Government Code.

- 1. Meeting called to order by Rodney Stephens.
- 2. Roll Call of Members was given by Debbie Montgomery.
- 3. Invocation was given by Joe Altebaumer.
- 4. Pledge of Allegiance was conducted
- 5. Guests present were Jeremy Shell of Boucher, Morgan, and Young, Paul Gaudette of the Dublin Citizen, and permit applicants Stevan and Katherine Seley.
- 6. There were no public comments.
- 7. Jeremy Shell of Boucher, Morgan, and Young presented a summary of the report on the annual financial audit of MTGCD for the year ended December 31, 2021.
- 8. Joe Altebaumer made a motion to accept the proposed MTGCD Management Plan as presented. Second by Shane Tucker. All members present voted yes. Management Plan accepted.
- 9. Kenneth Bullington made a motion to approve all operating permit applications on the permit hearing agenda. Second by Joe Altebaumer. All members present voted yes to approved the permit applications.
- 10. There was a review of the Minutes of the May 5<sup>th</sup>, 2022 monthly Board Meeting. Kenneth Bullington moved to approve the minutes of the meeting, second by Joe Altebaumer. All members present voted yes to approve the minutes.
- 11. Check Detail Report reviewed for dates 4/27/2022 through 5/26/2022, for check numbers 11610 through 11674 (11664, 11619 11631 voided), and including electronic checks 33122, 223105, 223106, 5152022, and 5152023. Motion was made by Kenneth Bullington, second by Gary Kafer, to approve and ratify the payment of the bills. All members present voted yes.
- 12. Income/Expense Comparison was reviewed.
- 13. Manager's Report was given by Patrick Wagner.
- 14. Office Manager Report was given by Debbie Montgomery. In addition to the permit applications, there were 40 exempt new well registrations during the past month.
- 15. Field Tech report was given by Johnny Wells. One well was plugged in May, in Comanche County. Thirteen water quality tests were completed, 4 in Erath County, 6 in Bosque County, and 3 in Comanche County. All wells tested good. Erath County wells were monitored in May and Comanche County wells will be monitored in June.
- 16. Education/PR Report/The Ditch Water Discovery Center Update given by Stephanie Keith.
- 17. Monthly Drought Report given by Patrick Wagner.
- 18. There was a first look at the 2023 Budget.
- 19. There was discussion of the Tax Rate for the upcoming year.
- 20. Rules Committee Update given by Patrick Wagner. Tentative meeting of the Rules Committee set for June 20<sup>th</sup> and then there will be discussion of the proposed changes at the July Board Meeting.
- 21. W.B. Maples moved to table the Discussion / Possible Action on Interlocal Agreement. Second by Fred Parker. All members present voted yes to table the discussion until a later time.
- 22. The Board retired into Executive Session at 1:34 PM.
- 23. The Board reconvened at 2:03 PM. President Rodney Stephens left at 1:56 PM and Vice-President Barbara Domel took over the presiding of the meeting. Frank Volleman moved to honor General Manager Patrick Wagner's contract with increase in salary. Second by Robert Payne. All members present voted yes. Gary Kafer made a motion to give each MTGCD employee a 3.5% cost-of-living increase in pay, with an additional merit raise for Debbie Montgomery. Second by Joe Altebaumer. All members present voted yes.
- 24. There was discussion on agenda items for the July Board Meeting.
- 25. Fred Parker moved to adjourn the meeting, second by W.B. Maples. Meeting adjourned by Barbara Domel.

Joe Altebaumer/Erath Co
Fred Parker/Erath Co
Jerry Hinshaw/ Erath Co
Shane Tucker /Comanche Co
Frank Volleman/Comanche Co
Rodney Stephens/Comanche Co
Charles E. Ferguson/ Bosque Co
Barbara Domel/Bosque Co
Robert Payne/Bosque Co
Gary Kafer/Coryell Co
Kenneth Bullington/Coryell Co
W.B. Maples/ Coryell Co